The Great Keinplatz Experiment

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

*Wait a few seconds for the document to load, the time may vary depending on your internet connection. If you prefer, you can download the file by clicking on the link below.


* If you have doubts about how to download free books from InfoBooks, visit our guide to downloading books.

This may interest you

A Study In Scarlet

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

A Study in Scarlet marks the first appearance of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, who would become the most famous detective duo in popular fiction.

The book’s title derives from a speech delivered by Holmes, a consulting detective, to his friend and chronicler Watson about the nature of his work, in which he describes the investigation of the murder in the history as his «study in scarlet: There’s the scarlet thread of murder running through the colourless skein of life, and our duty is to unravel it, isolate it, and expose every inch of it».

The Captain of the Polestar

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The Captain of the Polestar is a short story first published in January 1883. It tells the story of the captain of the Polestar Nicholas Craigie, who decides to anchor in the middle of the Arctic Ocean against the advice of his crew, as the ship could become trapped in the ice, which would mean death for all.

One morning, the second mate reports seeing a ghost at night, but he is not taken seriously. A few days later, a sailor claims to have also seen an apparition and the doctor accompanying them says he heard a scream in the dark. By now, the entire crew is convinced that something strange is hovering over them.

One night, the captain leaves the ship and disappears into the darkness as if following an invisible presence. The next day he is found dead on the ice with a bright smile on his face.

The White Company

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

At the age of twenty, young Alleyne, son of Edric, leaves the Catholic abbey where he has been raised, intelligent, skilled and beloved, but sheltered and naive, and goes out to meet the world, according to the terms of his father’s will.

That same day, the abbot expels John of Hordle for his worldly behavior: great appetite, teasing and flirting. They meet at Pied Merlin’s inn while resting each night. There they befriend the veteran archer Sam Aylward, who has returned to England from France to recruit for the The White Company of mercenaries.

Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is the second collection of short stories starring consulting detective Sherlock Holmes, first published in late 1893. It follows the collection entitled The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.

It consists of 12 stories that were originally published between December 1892 and December 1893 in The Strand Magazine under the title The Adventures (numbers 13 to 24). Some of the stories are: “The Adventure of Silver Blaze”, “The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual”, “The Adventure of the Reigate Squire” and “The Final Problem”.

Doyle intended to kill the detective in “The Final Problem”, but later, with the series The Return of Sherlock Holmes -which begins with the sequels to “The Final Problem”- it is revealed that Holmes survived, to the joy of the readers.

The Great Shadow

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The Great Shadow, also known as The Great Shadow and Other Napoleonic Tales, is a novel of action and adventure published in 1892. It is set in the Napoleonic era in the town of West Inch located between England and Scotland.

The story introduces us to Jack Colder who is the protagonist and narrator of the novel, there is also Jim Horscroft, the only friend of the protagonist who is described as bigger and stronger than him. Another character is Jack’s cousin Edie, who is involved in a sort of love triangle with her cousin and Jim, although it only corresponds to Jim.

This novel brings us doses of friendship, camaraderie, admiration and respect while immersing us in a historical event of great relevance such as the Battle of Waterloo.