The Old Maid and Other Stories

Author: Guy de Maupassant

*Wait a few seconds for the document to load, the time may vary depending on your internet connection. If you prefer, you can download the file by clicking on the link below.

The Old Maid and Other Stories is a selection of some of Maupassant's best short stories, in addition to "The Old Maid" we have: "The Awakening", Jeanne is a woman who lives with her husband in Val de Ciré. Due to health problems, her doctor advises her to go to Paris with her mother for the winter. During her stay, her journey becomes a test of her fidelity, even though she sincerely loves her husband.

“Rust” is the story of Baron de Coutelier, a hunter who only lives to hunt, however, this task is becoming more difficult for him as his health has deteriorated with age. As his friends feel he needs a wife, they get him one, but as he has lost the habit of “love", he decides to go to Paris to make sure everything goes well.

Other stories include: The Substitute, In the Spring, The Jennet, The man with blue eyes.


This may interest you

A Selection from the Writings of Guy de Maupassant

Guy de Maupassant

It is a compendium of stories that show his ingenuity to conceive complete and coherent narratives in a few pages, not in vain. Guy de Maupassant is known as one of the fathers of the short story.

In this selection of 27 works you will find stories such as "Mademoiselle Fifi", from 1882, and "Miss Harriet", from 1884, which belong to the author's most prolific period. Other stories included are: The Horla, An Affair Of State, Love, Bellflower, The Devil, Epiphany, The False Gems, Two Little Soldiers, and A Country Excursion, which have entertained generations of readers over the years.

A Selection From the Writings is the perfect volume for lovers of classic fiction, whose stories cover themes ranging from feelings like love, behaviors like madness, to revenge, war, and horror.

Boule de Suif and Other Stories

Guy de Maupassant

Boule de SuifIt is the story that made the French author famous, who uses subtle irony to tell his story. Published in 1880, it takes place during the occupation of France in the Franco-Prussian war of 1870.

Fleeing from Rouen, a stagecoach is organized for 10 people who obtain a safe-conduct to go to Le Havre; in them go three rich married couples fleeing from the Prussian occupation while preserving their fortune. With them travel two nuns, a fierce revolutionary named Cornudet and a well-known lady of the gallant life known as Boule de Suif.

What is expected to be a quick trip is hindered by the passage of troops and other unforeseen events, that day the only one who carries food is Boule de Suif who shares it with the other travelers, despite having felt their criticism and contempt.

Famous Modern Ghost Stories

Guy de Maupassant

Famous Modern Ghost Stories is a collection of fourteen stories from the 1920s. It was writer and editor Dorothy Scarborough who set about the task of compiling what she considered to be the best ghost stories of her time. It should be noted that the style of writing is very different from today's, yet the influence these works have had on contemporary authors of horror fiction is undeniable.

The stories included are from the late 19th and early 20th century, which for many is the perfect setting for ghosts, death and its mysteries. Among the authors we can mention Ambrose Bierce, Algernon Blackwood and, of course, Guy de Maupassant, with his story "A Ghost".

In "A Ghost", the Marquis de la Tour-Samuel recounts a ghostly encounter he had in his youth that marked him forever.

Maupassant Original Short Stories

Guy de Maupassant

It is safe to say that anyone with a passion for fiction will enjoy this 13-volume series of more than 110 works. Maupassant Original Short Stories brings together great stories that capture the reader's interest from the very first pages and often end with an unexpected surprise.

Among the short stories we can mention: "Two Friends", from 1882, set in Paris during the Franco-Prussian war. "Mother Savage", first published in March 1884, which, like the previous work, is set during the Franco-Prussian war, in the winter of 1871.

Then there is "Little Louise Roque”, a work from the 1880s with a rather strong theme. It deals with the unsolved murder of a girl of about 13, which touches on the themes of evil, impunity and abuse of power.

Monsieur Parent and Other Stories

Guy de Maupassant

"Monsieur Parent" is a short story published in 1885 in which Guy de Maupassant takes up and expands on the story of "Le Petit" from 1883. Here Monsieur Parent finds his wife Henriette with his best friend Limousin, so he decides to send her and "their" son Georges away.

Monsieur Parent and Other Stories also include: "The Father", from 1881, which is about a man who meets a charming young woman on a Paris omnibus on his way to his job as a clergyman, meeting every day. Progressively, they strike up a friendship that later develops into a relationship.

In "Useless Beauty", we have the Countess de Mascaret and her husband, the Count de Mascaret who have been married for 11 years and have 7 children, but the Countess harbors a secret, one of the children is not the Count's. After confessing her indiscretion, the Count repeatedly asks to know which of the children is not his, but the Countess refuses to tell him.